Daily Archives: April 14, 2012

Daily Record: Scots lion man Douglas Hamilton asked to consider role on hit US show The Bachelor

 Click to make bigger 


From The DailyRecord.co.uk

LION man Douglas Hamilton is in demand from US TV bosses after they saw online footage of him playing with cubs at a wildlife park.

Douglas melted the hearts of more than 170,000 people, including singing star Taylor Swift, after he posted videos of the encounters in South Africa.

The 28-year-old, whose films including Lion Cubs Hugs and Lion Licking Face were snapped up by an online marketing firm, has since moved to Australia.

Douglas said: “After the Taylor Swift mania, everything faded for a good five months… then out of nowhere my views online more than doubled in one week.

“Apparently, the main guy from Vampire Diaries posted my video on his Facebook or Twitter so it got all these views again – almost 487,000.

“CNN and Fox emailed wanting to use my video worldwide on their shows but I no longer have the rights so couldn’t.

“When I explained I no longer had the rights, CNN said if I went back to Africa they would possibly like to do a Christian and the lion type reunion thing to see if the lions remember me.”

Douglas, from Glasgow’s south side, has also been approached by US broadcasters ABC about reality TV show The Bachelor, which sees a group of women compete for the affections of the main man.

A producer emailed him, saying: “We’re looking for outstanding eligible men to be The Bachelor on our new season.

“I was totally enchanted by the video of you with those lion cubs, as well as by your music.”

Douglas is now in talks with the channel but he added: “I’m not really sure it’s my thing but I would like to get into TV presenting and do more with my music so it could open doors.”

The UK series of The Bachelor starred Welsh rugby international Gavin Henson in the lead role.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.